Fun Facts About Orangutans

Orangutan Fun Facts:

 Kesi on ground

Orangutans are highly intelligent and use tools:

They will poke twigs into holes to catch insects, chew up leaves and use them as sponges and use branches and sticks to test the depth of water before entering it.

Orangutans are sometimes referred to as “red apes.”  

Orangutans are the only Great Ape found outside Africa.

Orangutans are the only “red” ape.

Orangutans are the only strictly arboreal ape, meaning that they spend their lives in the forest canopy.

Orangutans breed slower than any other primate and have approximately 3 offspring in their lifetime. 

Sumatran orangutans have lighter hair, longer beards and narrower cheekpads than Borean orangutans.

Brachiating  Orangutans brachiate (swing arm-over-arm through the forest) better than any other ape.

There are two species of orangutans: Sumatran, Pongo abelii,  Sumatran

and Borean, Pongo pygmaeus.  Bornean

Orangutans are the only apes in the world that are from Asia. 

Orangutans are diurnal which means they are active during the day. 

Orangutans have opposable thumbs which means they can touch each of their fingers with their thumb. 

A male orangutan’s cheek pads keep growing for most of their life. 

Orangutans have 32 permanent teeth (the same amount as humans).  They have sharp canine teeth with the male orangutan having longer canine teeth that they use for threat displays and fighting. 

Mosquitoes bother orangutans just like they do humans and they will use branches like fly swatters to swish them away.

When it rains or the sun is hot an orangutan will hold a leafy branch or two over its head to protect itself from getting wet or overheated. 

Most orangutans build a nest every night high up in a tree and sometimes even add a roof of leaves. 

Orangutans can make approximately 13 to 15 different vocalizations. 

The name “orangutan” translates into English as “man of the forest”. It comes from Malay and Bahasa Indonesian orang (man) and hutan (forest). 

At this time orangutans can still be found in the rainforests of Borneo and Sumatra.

Legend says that orangutans can speak but choose not to because they fear they would be forced to work if were they ever caught talking.

An orangutan arms can have a reach of more than 8 feet!  How tall are you?  Probably not 8 feet or higher.  So, an orangutan can have a reach of a length longer than you are tall!

In their true habitat, male orangutans live alone and females live alone or with their infants.

Male orangutans reach a height of approximately 4.5 feet and females about 3.5 feet tall.

An orangutan is expected to live in their true habitat between 35 to 50 years (when not having their lives interrupted by poachers or other humans).  There are cases of orangutans in captivity living over 50 years–but what kind of life is that?  Give me 35 years of freedom instead of 50 years in a cage.

Female orangutans usually have one baby at a time and will only have one every 6 to 7 years.

Orangutans eat tropical fruits, leaves, sprouts, bark and insects.

Baby orangutans cry when they’re hungry, whimper when they’re hurt and smile at their mothers.

67 Responses

  1. you left some good facts for us to use about orangutans. it really helped alot and i wanted to say thank you. and do you have the life cycle of orangutans on the website.

  2. I love orangutans! thay are cute and cuddly!

  3. I LOVE ORANGUTANS THEY ARE SSSSOOOOOO CUTE!!!!!!!!!!

  4. thanks sooooooo much having to do a website on them for sch thanks.

  5. I cant wait to be older so i can travel to borneo and help the orangutans.

  6. i luv orangutan are cute

  7. thank you for your information. It did help me in creating my orang utan blog http://www.orangutanchatters.blogspot.com. Do visit us and leave us your comments. Thank you:)

  8. i like so much the orangutans

  9. ADORABLE! LUV THEM

  10. THEY ARE SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CUUUUUTTTTEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHEN I GROW UP I WANA TAKE CARE OF ORANGUTANS!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. THANKS SOOOO MUCH FOR THE INFORMATION!!!!

  12. THX THX THX THX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. I luv the facts u have on here. They are amazing. I hope u add more .

    Thank
    You, Tiffani

  14. when i grow up I what to help the orangutans I agree with all of u they are so cute and cuddly but som people think their ugle their wrong.

  15. this was fantastic formy kids project of orangutans. wendy

  16. there are sooooo cute and this is very helpful

  17. thank you you helped me with my project. It helped a lot i got a a+!just for that i dont have to repeat 3rd grade! it counted as 95% of my grade. thank you

  18. they are so cute tome

  19. thanks for the fact dude!i love orangutan..but i never know about the fact of orangutan(now i know):D thanks dude!!~

  20. the orangatan facts will really help me with my speech and thanks to this website and the help of my mum I think I will do really well with my speech thank you!!!!!!!!!!

  21. HOW COULD YOU NOT THINK THEY ARE CUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  22. so that will be how happy iam wheni see that orangutans are still alive in 2345

  23. why do they kill them they do it for there own good do it for someone elses good for once in there lives

  24. we love orangutans their so cute

  25. i looooove orangutans> This site really helped me on my report.

  26. wow good help thanks lots

  27. orang uatn has become part of my life….
    for some reasons i just adore them….
    i just cant accept and forgive why do some people dont have the humanity to kill the innocent live of the orang utan……….espeacially when its involving the babies……cute and innocent babies…..

  28. cute!!!!!!!!!

  29. orangutains are the best animals iv’e ever
    seen!! because they look like people!!! aren’t
    they cute?! they live in borneo i wonder what
    state they live in? i love orangutains and guess what?? i wake up at 6:00 AM just because their
    cute!!! then go to whateva channel animal planet
    is on then watch it!!!! just remember to wake up
    at 6:00 AM bye!!!!

  30. thanks for the useful information!!!

  31. thanks so much for your fact for are schooo project.

  32. didnt really help…. those are basic facts

  33. how cute i saw them in toronga zooo ❤

  34. This is sooo great they are sooooo cute it’s sad what some people are doing!

  35. Thanks, I have been doing a project on orangutans and this is great! 🙂

  36. I love orangutans becuase they live l9ong!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  37. OMG i love this web site and baby orangutangs even though penguins are my fav animal this helped with my STUPID homework

  38. thank you for the information. i really need it for my science homework.

  39. Ahh the orangutan they are soo cute and they are amazing animals i love them thank you to all the people who support them and thank you to all the replyers who have wrote positive messages too help them good luck for the future for you to help them!!!

  40. I’m doing a report on orangutans, and this website really helped me!:):):):):):)

  41. orangutansr
    rule!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  42. i am doing a report on orangutans this website help me so much

  43. i love orangutans they are awesome

  44. I am doing a report on orangutans for a school project and this really helped me with all of the facts I never knew!

    • i am doing a project on orangutans and i know all abou thtem because I live in borneo and have a pet orangutan. I saved my pet orangutan

  45. That is such cool facts your awesome this is good for my homework
    thankyou so much love Brandi ladyman-dobson

  46. this helped me on ict project thanks

  47. Doing School Report gave me all the facts I needed!!! 🙂

  48. “Fun Facts About Orangutans Orangutans!” was a
    excellent article. If it had a lot more photos this would most
    likely be even even better. Thank u -Adelaida

  49. I am doing a project on orangutans and I have this part that has to do with fun facts. I think this website will work.

  50. Im also doing a report and i need three fun facts!

  51. Hurrah! After all I got a weblog from where I know how to really get valuable data concerning my study and knowledge.

  52. great website and orangutan babies so cute

  53. I once adoped a orangutan and she was very cute!!!

  54. I savor, result in I found exactly what I was taking a look for.

    You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  55. Orangutan are awesome because they are flexible

  56. I am genuinely grateful to the holder of this web page who has
    shared this great paragraph at at this time.

  57. I now know loads of facts I never knew about these cute and cuddly animals!! They r massive though 😃😃😃😃

  58. Same I was doing a school project and had lots of good facts

  59. they are also cute

  60. im doing orangutans for my English project!!!!!!!

Leave a comment